nflkrot.blogg.se

Create table of contents in word styles
Create table of contents in word styles












  1. #Create table of contents in word styles how to
  2. #Create table of contents in word styles install

You would only use that if you had to create a table of contents for a document that you didn't have total access to. The first is labeled, simply, "Contents," and the second is labeled, "Table of Conents." Below that, there's a Manual Table of conents that allows you to type- Oh, please no. And the difference between the two is very simple. First, there's an automatic table of contents one and an automatic table of contents two. There are actually more than three possibilities here. And now that I've given my TOC a place to live, which I needed to do, I'm gonna insert the TOC. Let's do a Ctrl + Home again to fly to the top of my entire document. So now, I have my report starting on the next page. So I'm gonna go to Page Layout, Breaks, and we're gonna throw in a Next Page section break, which gives me a whole new page too and I like that. And I'm gonna hold Ctrl and hit Home to go to the top of the document and then I want to insert a section break.

create table of contents in word styles

#Create table of contents in word styles install

It's a familiar document that we've seen before, our quarterly install summary.

create table of contents in word styles

But, let me show you how it works when that is what you've used. And it's easy to do this with your unique, customized heading styles as well, so don't make an assumption that I'm encouraging you only to use the built-in heading styles. If you've created custom heading styles, we're gonna talk about that in the next movie, but I want you to see this anyway because this is important. So the assumption here is that we have used heading styles and further, in this document, that we have used the built-in heading styles.

#Create table of contents in word styles how to

Oh, I forgot, there's a fourth group, people who already know what I'm gonna show you how to do in this movie, which is to create a table of contents relying on the styles that we've provided in the document. And then the third type are folks who've never created a table of contents because it seemed unimaginable. The second group of folks are folks who don't do that anymore because it was too hard and they've given up on that. There are folks who create tables of contents manually, typing a table or typing a list that has the titles and the page numbers on it.

create table of contents in word styles

When I talk about table of contents, what I find is there are three different types of users.














Create table of contents in word styles